Monday, February 19, 2018

All India Radio Retrospective

All India Radio was first logged and QSLed in the early 1970s when I lived in Colorado (USA). All India Radio was heard regularly on 11.620 kHz (SW), just before sunrise, as I recall. A few months after sending my first reception report to All India Radio I received a QSL card, depicting India's famed landmark, The Red Fort.

In Malaysia, a total of 47 All India Radio stations were QSLed from 2010 till 2018. Initially All India Radio confirmed a few stations, and then later, Spectrum Management & Synergy verified the majority of the stations listed below.

MEDIUM-WAVE (30 AIR stations QSLed):
Cuttack (Odisha)
Jeypore (Odisha)
Imphal (Manipur)
Ahmedabad (Gujarat)
Diburugarh (Assam)
Diphu  (Assam)
Raipur (Chhattisgarh)
Jabalpur (Madhya Pradesh)
Indore (Madhya Pradesh)
Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh)
Cuddapah (Andhra Pradesh)
Vijayawada (Andhra Pradesh)
Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh)
Najibabad (Uttar Pradesh)
Ranchi (Jharkhand)
Tiruchirappalli (Tamil Nadu)
Patna (Bihar)
Chinsurah (West Bengal)
Siliguri (West Bengal)
Kolkata (West Bengal)
Suratgarh, (Rajasthan)
Jodhpur (Rajasthan)
Rajkot (Rajasthan)
Parbhani (Maharashtra)
Nagpur (Maharashtra)
Pune (Maharashtra)
Jalandhar (Punjab)
Port Blair (Adaman & Nicobar Islands)
Srinagar (Jammu and Kashmir)
Tezu (Arunachal Pradesh)

SHORT-WAVE (17 AIR stations QSLed):
Aligarh  (Uttar Pradesh)
Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh)
Bangalore (Karnataka)
Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh)
Chennai (Tamil Nadu)
Hyderabad (Telangana)
Kurseong (West Bengal)
Jaipur (Rajasthan)
Jeypore (Odisha)
Mumbai (Maharashtra)
Shillong (Meghalaya)
Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala)
Port Blair (Adaman & Nicobar Islands)
Panaji (Goa)
Srinagar (Kashmir & Jammu)
Leh (Kashmir & Jammu)
Gangtok (Sikkim)

This video contains several AIR verification cards (QSLs) from the above stations and the signature AIR interval tune, which was composed by Walter Kaufmann or Thakur Balwant Singh and which has been used since 1936.

No comments:

Post a Comment